Working like crazy this month has got me wanting to eat out!  That is not in the budget guys! I find myself contemplating it, especially on those late nights packed with activities with the kids.  I have been able to resist so far, and here is how…

Keeping easy options on hand

It’s a lot less tempting to spend a ton eating out if you have easy things to fix at home.  Pizza, cold meat sandwiches, chili dogs.  I would say I plan easy meals like this at least twice a week, and if I don’t use them, no big deal.

Keep snacks in your car

I am always grabbing some bananas or granola bars on my way out the door. I have even been known to have a pack of waters in the back, just in case.  Kids will be kids, and you don’t want to be 20 minutes from home with 3 hungry kiddos.

Keep your eyes on the prize

When your hangry, nothing else matters.  Sometimes I have to eat a snack, turn on a finance podcast, and reconsider.  No loaded stromboli or milkshake is going to taste as sweet as total debt freedom.

Reflect on success

Look at how far you’ve come! It’s too late to turn back now.  Even if you have only started, making the commitment to becoming debt free is serious business.  Now you can say you know better, and a little planning ahead will keep you on track!

Leave a Reply

